Description of Lord Ganesha Twelve Names

Description of Lord Ganesha Twelve Names

Ganesha Twelve Names – The most popular and worshipped deity among Hindus is Lord Ganesha; the deity with head of an elephant and riding a mouse has many names, but the most common twelve names are described here.

Ganesha Twelve Names

The most popular and revered deity in India; Lord Ganesha is the god of success, skill, expertise, all types of education, knowledge, wealth.

Depiction of Lord Ganesha …
He is shown with four hands; one hand holds a lotus, the symbol of enlightenment, the second hand holds a hatchet (for cutting the previous balance of accumulated Karma when enlightenment dawns) .The third hand holds laddus (a kind of Indian sweets) and these are the rewards of a righteous life. The fourth hand is shown in blessing stance.

Ganesha has only one full length tusk; the other is shown broken indicating that the wise must look beyond duality.

Importance of Sawan shivratri Vrat

Names of Lord Ganesha …

Lord Ganesh is addressed with various names but the most popular Ganesha Twelve Names are as described below:

(1) Sumukh: Means good looking face which Lord Ganesha possessed and this beautiful face with well-formed features becomes the center of attention of the devotees worshiping the Lord during any ceremony.

(2) Ekdantt: Which means one teeth or tusk, this symbolizes that one should be able to look beyond the Mayavik (delusive) duality of nature. One should move ahead single mindedly casting away all doubts and distractions in life.

(3) Kapila: This means the Smokey grey colour and here it stands for the grey coloured cow which is known as Kapila. Here in this form lord Ganesha gives ‘Ghee’ in the form of knowledge, curd in the form of wisdom and milk in the form of expression and makes the devotee healthy and destroys all his or her evils.

(4) Gajkaran: Means big ears like those of an elephant. Big ears of Ganesha signify importance of careful listening even to minute and even unspoken thoughts and feelings of those who wish to communicate.

(5) Lambodara: This means ‘big bellied’ in fact Ganesha with big belly signifies ability to digest small unimportant things which irritate one and cause him or her to lose temper. Under the spell of temper one’s mind becomes agitated and ability to think and decide is lost.

(6) Vikat: Means ferocious or dreadful and Lord Ganesha is also known by this name as he was fearless and fought ferociously with demons so this name of Ganesha gives courage to the devotee to become fearless.

(7) Vighannashak: Vighan means any obstacle and Lord Ganesha being the son of Lord Shiva destroys all obstacles in the devotee’s path of progress.

(8) Vinayaka: Means super hero and Lord Ganesha is considered the hero of all devatas (gods).

(9) Dhoomketu:There was a demon called Dhumasura who launched a chemical warfare and the resulting poisonous smoke called in Sanskrit as Dhumum was swallowed by Lord Ganesha and thus he came to be known by the name Dhoomaketu.

(10) Ganadhayaksh:It signifies that the leader should be of stable mind with ability to concentrate so that he or she takes right decisions and people follow him or her.

(11) Bhaalchandara:Means one who wears the Moon on his head. The Moon has importance for all so by holding the Moon on his head Lord Ganesha creates an environment of peace and calmness which are necessary for real progress.

(12) Gajanan:Means one with face of an elephant, lord Ganesha in this form conveys through his elephant head and face certain qualities of an elephant. Small eyes signify critical vision; big ears call for power to listen attentively and the big head means magnanimity.

Article by: Jyotirvid Pawan Kumar

Why Lakshmi Ganesha worshiped together?

Nakshatra Uttarashada