Trinity of Houses of a Birth Chart

Life upon Earth is sustained by Arth (material pursuits & gains) and Kaam (desires)and the way out or Moksha (emancipation) is through Dharma (Basic duties and righteousness).

Trinity of Houses

In a birth chart there are twelve houses which cover the areas or functions of the entire life of a native. As per a trinity (group of three) based classification these houses as shown in the table below fall under three distinct titles viz. Dharma, Arth, Kaamand Moksha.

House Group


1st, 5th and 9th


2nd ,6th and 10th


3rd ,7th and 11th


4th, 8th and 12th



Mostly the term ‘Dharma’ is misunderstood as some organised religion like Hinduism, Christianity, Jainism, and Sikhism etc. etc. In true sense the scriptural deep meaning is the natural universal laws,which if observed enable humans to live a life of contentment and happiness, and be protected from deprivation and suffering.

Dharma is nature’s moral law combined with spiritual discipline that guides one’s life. Hindus consider dharma the very foundation of life. Dharma means ‘that which sustains’ the whole creation.

The path for observing Dharma is through the eightfold Raja Yoga.

As per Vedic Astrology the houses 1st, 5th, and 9th are the Dharma houses. The 1st house is the core personality of the native on whose shoulders rests the responsibility of observing the nature’s law of Dharma or righteousness.

The 5th house mainly representing intelligence, education and progeny goes a long way in this direction. The native has responsibility of nurturing righteous character in his or her children so that the nature’s ‘code of conduct’ is successfully passed on to the next generation.

Worship of Lord Vishnu or His avatars (divine incarnations) will help the native in staying on the narrow and difficult path of righteousness. Here the author wishes to clarify that Lord Vishnu is not just god of Hindus, rather it is the Divine Force which is responsible for maintaining or sustaining life upon this planet.


Life upon earth is revolving around Arth or material pursuits, wealth and material possessions. As per Vedic astrology the houses 2nd, 6th and 10th houses representing the earth element are connected mainly with wealth, struggle and action respectively.

Worship of goddess Lakshami will help in fulfilling Arth related requirements. Again it needs to be clarified that the goddess is universal force assigned with a specific task and does not belong to just one religion. So keeping this in mind people of all religions and beliefs can benefit.


Kaam or desires is the greatest Mayavik (deceptive) driving force which keeps humans entangled in endless cycles of “Birth, Death and Re-birth”. If not for any necessity re-birth becomes essential for working out accumulated Karma related to unfulfilled desires.

As per Vedic astrology the houses 3rd, 7th and 11th are Kaam houses representing siblings, spouse, sex, lusts and fulfilment and these play important role in keeping humans desire-bound which actually means Earth-bound.

For fulfilment of basic desires worship of goddess Durga helps. This goddess in fact is the life force in the bodily castle (Durg).


Our wise ancient sages revealed the way out or emancipation (Moksha) from endless and forceful cycles of incarnating time and again.

Astrologically houses 4th, 8th and 12th are instrumental in liberating one (Moksha) from earth-bound tendencies through lack of peace, troubles and dangers and losses.

Worship of Lord Shiva in addition to following the royal path of Raja Yoga prepares the path to Moksha or Nirvana.

Article by: Jyotirvid Pawan Kumar