A Combination of Vedic Astrology called ‘Hamsa Yoga’

In Vedic Astrology there are various Yogas, in other words combinations of planets, signs and houses.Hamsa Yoga is one of the auspicious astrological Yogas.


How Hamsa Yoga is formed?

The auspicious Hamsa Yoga is counted among the five ‘Panch-MahapurushaYogas’. This Yoga is formed in a birth chart if the planet Jupiter occupies a square house viz. 1st, 4th, 7th or the 10th house in its own signs viz. Sagittarius or Pisces or its sign of exaltation viz. Cancer.

As such this Yoga is possible in the birth charts of Aries, Gemini, Cancer, Virgo, Libra, Sagittarius, Capricorn and Pisces ascendant signs.

Results of Hamsa Yoga

As a result of this auspicious Yoga the native is righteous and pure minded and liked by others also he or she possesses a well-formed body.

Strength of the Yoga

Among the four square houses the 1st house or the ascendant is most powerful and auspicious since it is also a trine house. So obviously this yoga formed in the ascendant will be the most powerful and auspicious. Among the rest of the three square houses the 10th house is more powerful.

Among other things the Shadbala strength of Jupiter will decide the strength of this yoga. Any malefic influences on Jupiter through aspects, association or constellation will weaken this yoga.

Real Life Example

The following is the birth chart of a native. The Hamsa Yoga is formed as Jupiter occupies the 4th house in its own sign viz. Pisces.


Example Birth Chart

Please note that Jupiter receives malefic aspects of Mars and Saturn. Because of this weakness the native was not a renowned or authoritative person, but still during the periods of Jupiter he enjoyed to some extent recognition and respect from others.

Article by: Jyotirvid Pawan Kumar