Total Lunar Eclipse

Lunar Eclipse
The total lunar eclipse of 15th April 2014 will not occur in India. ...….

The total lunar eclipse which occurs on 15th April 2014 will be visible in eastern Asia, Australia, North America, and South America, some parts of Antarctica, Western Africa and Western Europe. This eclipse will not be visible in any part of India.

Note: Although the eclipse will occur in these areas yet the visibility will obviously be subject to weather conditions.

Before we discuss the eclipse which occurs on 15th April 2014 let us understand the three types of lunar eclipses.

Three Types of Lunar Eclipses …


A lunar eclipse occurs on a full Moon night when the Sun, our Earth and the Moon all three come in a line. But this does not occur on every full Moon and happens only when the Sun comes close to one of the nodes viz. Rahu or Ketu and the Moon comes close to the other node. Whether the eclipse is Penumbral, Partial or Total depends upon the degree of closeness of the Sun and the Moon with the nodes.
Penumbral


The shadow of the earth where the light of the Sun is totally blocked is shown more dark in the above sketch and is called Umbra. On both sides of Umbra are areas where the Sun’s light is partially blocked and these are Penumbra (shown as less dark). Moon on its orbit is shown moving from the position 1 (No Eclipse) to 2 (Penumbral Eclipse) 3 (Partial Eclipse) and 4 (Total Eclipse).

Total Lunar Eclipse Occurs on 15th April 2014 …


The lunar eclipse of 15th April will be total but the Moon shall gradually pass through various phases as described below:
umbra

M1: The Moon shall enter a light shaded area called Penumbra at 10:22 AM IST viz. 04:52 UTC/GMT.

M2: The Moon remains in Penumbral area till 11:28 IST (05:58 UTC/GMT) and then starts entering the Umbra region. So this is the time from which the total eclipse begins.

M3: The complete Moon enters this Umbra region at 12:36 PM IST (07:06 UTC/GMT) and starts leaving it at 13:55 PM IST (08:25 UTC/GMT). The peak of total eclipse or maximum of total eclipse viz. M3 positionis at 13:16 PM IST (07:46 UTC/GMT).

M4: The Moon leaves the Umbra region which means the total eclipse ends at 15:03 PM IST (09:33 UTC/GMT).

M5: The Moon leaves the Penumbral region at 16:09 PM IST (UTC/GMT).

From the above phases we conclude that the Total Lunar Eclipse (M3) is from 12:36 PM IST (07:06 UTC/GMT) to 13:55PM IST (08:25 UTC/GMT), that is for duration of 1 hour and 19 minutes.

Let me describe relation between the standard time followed in India (IST) and that followed globally (UTC/GMT).

In India we follow IST which is Indian Standard Time; it is the same throughout India and not varies from locality to locality.

Universally accepted time is GMT which is Greenwich Mean Time and refers to the time at a place called Greenwich in England at 0o longitude. GMT is also referred to as UTC (Coordinated Universal Time). The IST is 5hrs 30 minutes ahead of UTC/GMT. So for example when in India it is 2 PM then at that time it is 08:30 AM as per GMT or UTC.

Astrological Importance of Lunar Eclipse …


Astrologically an eclipse is believed to affect only those living the areas where an eclipse is visible. Here let me clarify that by ‘Visible’ is meant the area covered by the eclipse and does not refer to its visibility due to weather conditions.

During the present eclipse of 15th April 2014 the Moon will be in the zodiac sign of Virgo/Libra and constellation (Nakshatra) Chitra of planet Mars

Since the eclipse takes place in the Chtra Nakshatra therefore for effects of the eclipse we should consider the time period for which the Moon will be in Chitra Nakshatra viz. from 11 PM IST (17:30 UTC/GMT) of 14th April 2014 till 11 PM IST (17:30 UTC/GMT) of 15th April 2014.



Favourable Results:


Look at your birth chart, if there is a benefice planet in the Virgo and Libra signs then this eclipse will be favorable to you and give positive results pertaining to the matters of the house concerned.

If in your birth chart the natal Moon is in Taurus, Scorpio or Pisces sign then this eclipse may not be favorable to you to an extent depending upon the house and Nakshatrain which Moon in your chart is placed.

If in your birth chart the natal Moon is in Aries, Gemini , Cancer, Capricorn or Aquarius sign then this eclipse will be favorable to you to an extent depending upon the house and Nakshatra in which Moon is in your chart.

Who Needs to Take Care?

You need to take care if any of the following conditions are met as per your birth chart:

• If in your chart there are malefic planets in the Virgo and Libra signs.

• If Mars is not favorable as per your birth chart.

• If Moon is weak or afflicted in your birth chart.

If any one or more of the above conditions are met then you need not have any undue fear in the mind but only advised to follow the following suggestions:

• Between 11 PM IST (17:30 UTC/GMT) of 14th April 2014 to 11 PM IST (17:30 UTC/GMT) of 15th April 2014 avoid taking any important decisions. If it is not avoidable then weigh all pros and cons of a situation and only after detailed analysis of the matter take any decision. Also in this period avoid investing money in any project and lending it to others if possible.

• From 12:36 PM IST (07:06 UTC/GMT) to 13:55 PM IST (08:25 UTC/GMT) on 15th April 2014 take a refreshing bath and sit calmly in a peaceful place and recite at least 108 times the mantra, “Om NamahaShivaye”. During this time avoid discussions and arguments with others.

Research and Article by: Jyotirvid Pawan Kumar
Related Articles
The Occasion of Karva Chauth 2014
Sharad Navratri
Anant Chaturdashi
Pitr Paksha 2014
Ganesh Chaturthi 2014
Latest Articles
Astrology of Moles on the Body
Lady Diana’s Death Conspiracy Cannot Be Ruled Out
Ganesh Chaturthi 2014
How Meena Kumari Became Alcoholic
Significance of Mahurat in Astrology
Daily Guidance | Aries | Taurus | Gemini | Cancer | Leo | Virgo | Libra | Scorpio | Sagittarius | Capricorn | Aquarius | Pisces



Online Experts

Free Lal Kitab.com


Our Products
Career Report
Financial Report
Kawach

Get Adobe Flash player
Image
Resources | Glossary | Terms & Conditions| Privacy Policy | Sitemap | RSS
Website Designed, Developed and Maintained by Truthstar Future Vision Pvt. Ltd.